M.A. Van Wey Travel & Photo


It’s a cold day in hell…
September 25, 2009, 6:09 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , ,

Welcome!

Welcome!

Howdy folks! Come on over, pull up a seat. Watch out for the spent casings, they’re still hot.

Hell hath frozen over, pigs doth fly through the air, I started a….blog.

The motivation behind the blog is this:  I’ll be leaving for Thailand in a couple weeks to teach English to the wee little ones, and I thought this would be a great way to keep a small group of friends and family informed of my adventures.

However I hope that this site goes beyond that narrow scope.  I hope to showcase my most recent photography here as well, the theme likely being my travels abroad.  I have a website dedicated soley to my photography, WhalefishPhoto.com, however I haven’t really put in the time to get the word out, and I don’t really fancy paying $ to keep that site hosted anymore (plus it’s a pain to update).  The site will remain for another year, but I hope to put more energy into this one as an informal travel and photo documentary.

Updates to this site will hopefully be regular, although probably not at first.  The plan is to spend the first month in Thailand backpacking, exploring, vagabonding, until I find somewhere I’d like to settle.  That first month will probably be mildly chaotic, so updates on a regular basis are unlikely.  Once I find a house/apartment and employment, I’ll give more attention to the site.

So for now, until I leave the States, I’ll post some photos and travel summaries from my most recent adventures on the Colorado Trail, and other travel/photo related tidbits.  Please spread the word amongst those who would be interested in following my misadventures.  Also, be gentle; I have almost no idea what I’m doing with this WordPress format, so I’m learning as I go.

Yours Truly,

The Guy with the AK-47

PS.  Check out the About page for more dirt, and my Flickr photos (left sidebar), which will hopefully be updated as well.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

