M.A. Van Wey Travel & Photo


Too Hot to Think
March 8, 2010, 11:08 am
Filed under: Travel Abroad | Tags: , ,

Moving to a tropical climate is more difficult than I had imagined.  I’ve always liked to walk around in shorts and flip flops; while I was at boarding school in New England I had a hard time giving them up and would frequently don them despite the freezing temperatures and snow.  In Thailand, shorts and flip-flops are as ubiquitous as tight jeans and converse in Seattle, which makes me very happy.  Unfortunately though, even in shorts and flip-flops the heat is oppressive.

When I first arrived in Bangkok the heat was intense, but after a week or so I started getting used to it.  I thought I had the heat under control until about a month ago, when temperatures started averaging 40 Celsius (104 Fahrenheit).  The problem with heat like this isn’t the sweating, I’ve gotten used that after only a few weeks in Thailand.  In fact I’ve come to expect that if I make any sort of athletic movement I’ll start sweating profusely.  I’m used to the permanently sweaty upper lip.  In a strange kind of way, I like the sweatiness of everything.  It makes me feel alive, active, like an animal (even if I’m just sweeping the porch).  No the problem is not sweat, but rather the cloud it casts over your mental clarity and calmness.  Perhaps this too is something that one can get used to, but I’ve been struggling with it these last few weeks.

When it’s 40 degrees out, it’s too hot to think.  My mind fails to make its usual neural connections, like the synapses have been filled with putty and nothing is getting through.  Motivation drops off precipitously, making it difficult to do the simplest things.  It’s difficult to feel calm when your mind and body are reeling from the heat.  Some things are numbed by the heat, others are aggravated.  Eventually the heat will taper off a bit when the monsoon’s start around May.  Hopefully then I’ll regain some of my lost sanity and creative drive.  In the meantime, I’m slowly baking my brain into useless custard under the Thai sun.  I hear in the coming months 45 degrees Celsius is not uncommon.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I remember that feeling very well. Marissa and I were there this time 1 year ago, and we only wanted to spend a day in Ayutthaya but ended out spending 4 because it was literally too hot to plan our next adventure and we succumbed to lounging by the river instead.

Unfortunately, here in South Korea the opposite just happend. it dumped a ton of snow and it went from almost 60 degree days to bone chilling cold in the blink of an eye. Now it’s too damn cold to think here.

We should trade. Grass is always greener, eh?

~cheers,

Drew

Comment by Drew




Leave a Reply

